Microprose Soccer

franco

RetroActive
Αντιδράσεις
(this game was developed by Sensible Software in 1988 and published from Microprose in the same year. Coded by Chris Yates and music by Martin Galway).

I haven't found in the section a description about this game that personally was my favourite game in absolute on the Commodore 64 when I was younger... I started playing it in 1991 when I was 11 years old and, since it's a very hard-playing game, my first soccer matches, even if I took the "strongers" soccer teams such like Brazil, Italy, Argentina, Germany (or better "W GERMANY") and so on, it was impossible for me to win a match...

The most common way to score a goal in this game is to position the player at the external border of the area and to shoot a diagonal kick... other ways are the "banana kick" (hold down the fire button and contemporary move the joystick in the correspondant direction) or when beating a corner kick...

Nowadays, I use the Australia or the New Zealand to play, and these are the results... I put only the images of one match, because the tournament is too long... enjoy them !!!!

[edit] Dead pics [edit]

Τελευταία επεξεργασία από έναν συντονιστή:
A very good game, I used to play it a lot on a friend's C64 and wonder why the Amiga didn't have an equally decent football title. That was before Kick Off was released, of course. But Microprose Soccer was certainly ahead of its time, in fact I think it's my favorite Microprose piece of software ever. :cool:

For the Commodore 64 there was also the "Emlyn Hughes International Soccer" or an hybrid "International Soccer" available on cartridge and programmed by Andrew Spencer for the Commodore Business Machines... but honestly I have always preferred Microprose Soccer to these two other soccer games... :)

Nice thread!!!

But, as everyone knows already, I am a HUGE football hater.

Never liked these kind of games, and never will.